INMARSAT Fleet

Notice

The NERA Fleet33 and Fleet55 are no longer available.
You can continue using your current equipment; however, the maintenance period of each device ended as shown below.

NERA Fleet33 December 31, 2014
NERA Fleet55 December 31, 2014

Communication Charges

The following explains how to use the KDDI INMARSAT service from an INMARSAT Fleet equipment.

Communication charges from an INMARSAT Fleet equipment (tax free)

As of August 20, 2012

Category Destination Time slot From Japanese registered equipments From foreign registered equipments
¥/6 seconds (automatic call) $/6 seconds (automatic call)
Group 0 Japan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore Normal time ¥35 $0.30
Discount time ¥25 $0.21
Group 1 U.S., Hawaii, Alaska, Guam, Canada, Mexico, China, India, Australia, New Zealand, Cyprus, Saipan, Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Italy, Greece, Norway, Russia, Spain, Canary Islands, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom Normal time ¥39 $0.33
Discount time ¥34 $0.29
Group 2 Others Normal time ¥51 $0.44
Discount time ¥34 $0.29
To INMARSAT FB/BGAN/IsatPhone Pro(TM) equipments Normal time ¥65 $0.55
Discount time ¥55 $0.46
To INMARSAT B equipments Normal time ¥72 $0.61
Discount time ¥62 $0.52
To INMARSAT Fleet equipments Normal time ¥59 $0.50
Discount time ¥49 $0.41
To INMARSAT Mini M equipments [1] Normal time ¥59 $0.50
Discount time ¥49 $0.41
To Thuraya satellite mobile phones Normal time ¥74 $0.63
Discount time ¥64 $0.55
To IRIDIUM satellite mobile phones Normal time ¥89 $0.76
Discount time ¥79 $0.68
  • [1]
    The INMARSAT Mini M service will no longer be provided as of December 31, 2016.
  • The KDDI Sattelite Earth Station can be accessed from the Pacific Ocean, the Indian Ocean, Atlantic Ocean – East, and Atlantic Ocean – West by dialing "003" (The same rate applies to all ocean regions).
  • Communication charges are exempt from taxation.

Discount rate periods for each region are as follows.

Pacific Ocean (satellite) Region 04:00 - 12:00 JST (19:00 - 03:00 UTC the next day)
Indian Ocean (satellite) Region 04:00 - 12:00 JST (19:00 - 03:00 UTC the next day)
Atlantic Ocean Region – East (satellite) 07:00 - 15:00 JST (22:00 - 06:00 UTC the next day)
Atlantic Ocean Region – West (satellite) 08:00 - 16:00 JST (23:00 - 07:00 UTC the next day)

Communication charges for the INMARSAT HSD (in Japanese only)

Communication charges for the Internet Packet Data (in Japanese only)

  • All of the indicated amounts exclude tax unless otherwise specified.