INMARSAT M

Announcement of Service Termination

The INMARSAT M service was terminated as of December 31, 2014.
The following services are recommended as replacements for this service.

INMARSAT BGAN
INMARSAT FB (FleetBroadband)
KDDI Optima Marine Service (in Japanese only)

Communication Charges

Communication charges from an INMARSAT M equipment (Telephone) (tax free)

As of December 20, 2005

Category Destination Time slot From Japanese registered equipments From foreign registered equipments
Yen/6 seconds (automatic call) US$/6 seconds (automatic call)
Group 0 Japan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Taiwan, Philippines, Singapore Normal time ¥52 $0.44
Discount time ¥40 $0.34
Group 1 U.S., Hawaii, Alaska, Guam, Canada, Mexico, China, India, Australia, New Zealand, Cyprus, Saipan, Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Italy, Greece, Norway, Russia, Spain, Canary Islands, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom Normal time ¥61 $0.52
Discount time ¥49 $0.42
Group 2 Others Normal time ¥61 $0.52
Discount time ¥49 $0.42
To IMARSAT FB/BGAN equipments Normal time ¥82 $0.69
Discount time ¥70 $0.59
To INMARSAT B equipments Normal time ¥89 $0.75
Discount time ¥77 $0.65
To INMARSAT Fleet equipments Normal time ¥76 $0.64
Discount time ¥64 $0.54
To INMARSAT M equipments Normal time ¥104 $0.88
Discount time ¥92 $0.78
To INMARSAT Mini M equipments Normal time ¥76 $0.64
Discount time ¥64 $0.54
To Thuraya satellite mobile phones Normal time ¥91 $0.78
Discount time ¥79 $0.68
To IRIDIUM satellite mobile phones Normal time ¥106 $0.91
Discount time ¥94 $0.81
  • Communication charges are exempt from taxation.

Discount rate periods for each region are as follows.

Pacific Ocean (satellite) Region 04:00 – 12:00 JST (19:00 – 03:00 UTC the next day)
Indian Ocean (satellite) Region 04:00 – 12:00 JST (19:00 – 03:00 UTC the next day)
Atlantic Ocean Region - East (satellite) 07:00 – 15:00 JST (22:00 – 06:00 UTC the next day)
Atlantic Ocean Region - West (satellite) 08:00 – 16:00 JST (23:00 – 07:00 UTC the next day)
  • All of the indicated amounts exclude tax unless otherwise specified.